The Department

The Department

The Department of Computer Science was established in 1984, and has evolved from a teaching-oriented department into one that excels in both teaching and research.

The Department launched its first BSc in Computer Studies in 1987 (renamed and restructured as the BSc Computer Science in 2000), followed by the MSc in Computer Science in 1991. The Department also produced its first PhD graduate in 1994.

In addition to offering traditional courses such as foundations of computer science, computer architecture and software engineering, our curriculum exposes students to the latest advances in cloud computing, machine learning, and bioinformatics. Students have the opportunity to undertake a major design and development project in areas such as electronic commerce, virtual reality, multimedia, computer vision, cloud computing, and information security.

All teaching within the Department is subject to stringent quality assurance procedures. The Department maintains state-of-the-art computing facilities, including a private cloud infrastructure for teaching activities support and a high-throughput computing cluster for computationally intensive tasks involved in various research activities.

The Department's research foci include bioinformatics, cloud computing, data science, evolutionary computation and metaheuristic, information security, machine learning, mobile computing, multimedia computing, software engineering, vision and graphics. Our staff have contributed intellectually and professionally to the advancement of these fields.