Smart Traffic Fund

Prof Jianping WANG’s project, titled Integrating Virtual and Real-World Testing Environments for Autonomous Vehicles, has been awarded the Smart Traffic Fund, managed by the Transport Department and Hong Kong Productivity Council.  The approved funding for this project exceeds HK$18 million

ACM Fellow 2022

Prof Yuguang Fang was elected an ACM Fellow in 2022 for his remarkable contributions to wireless networks and mobile computing. 

The ACM Fellows Program recognizes the top 1% of ACM Members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community. In 2022, ACM has named 57 of is members ACM Fellows, and Prof Fang is one of the two researchers from Hong Kong receiving this honor. 

Funding success in the RGC’s Collaborative Research Fund (CRF) 2022/23

The CityU-led research “Enabling Metadata-private and Accountable Networks at Scale”, initiated and coordinated by Prof Cong WANG in collaboration with researchers from HKU, HKUST, and U of Toronto, has been awarded HK$7.52 million in the Collaborative Research Fund (CRF) from the Research Grants Council (RGC) in the 2022-23 exercise.  This funding success is a testament to our dedication to research excellence and capacity to take a leading role in conducting cross-disciplinary and cross-institutional research.

IEEE Fellow 2023

Prof Jianping Wang has been elevated to Fellow of the prestigious Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in the class of 2023 for her contributions to resiliency of complex systems.

The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The total number selected in any one year does not exceed one-tenth of one percent of the total voting Institute membership.

Test of Time Award at the 20th ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems (ACM SenSys 2022)

Dr Zhenjiang LI, along with his collaborators Pengfei ZHOU, Yuanqing ZHENG, Mo LI and Guobin SHEN, received the Test of Time Award at the 20th ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems (ACM SenSys 2022) for their research work entitled “IODetector: A Generic Service for Indoor Outdoor Detection” in recognition of its contributions to intelligent mobile location services with enduring commercial adoption and successful widespread technology transfer. The work was published ten years ago at ACM SenSys 2012.

IEEE Multimedia Rising Star Award 2021

Dr Shiqi Wang won the 2021 IEEE Multimedia Rising Star Award for his outstanding early-stage career achievements in the area of compact video representation. The Award is selected every two years at IEEE International Conference on Multimedia and Expo (ICME) with an aim to acknowledge young and accomplished researchers working in emerging areas of multimedia research.

Rising Star Award 2021

Dr Weitao Xu received the Rising Star Award 2021 from China Chapter of ACM Special Interest Group on Embedded Systems (SIGBED). Two young scholars in the greater China area were elected for the Award in 2021 in recognition of their notable achievements and outstanding research potential in the field of Computer Science.