Postgraduate Certificate in
Information Security


Programme Structure

Click here for SGS programme webpage cohort 2021

Courses in the programme include one core (required) course and several Electives (elective courses). There are two groups of Electives: Group I and Group II. To obtain the award of Postgraduate Certificate in Information Security, students are required to take

  • 3 credit units of the core course CS5285 Information Security for eCommerce, and
  • 9 credit units of Electives, including at least 3 credit units of Electives in Group I.

Refer to Taught Postgraduate Catalogue for more information of individual courses.

Core Course - 3 credit units

Code Title Credit Units Remarks
CS5285 Information Security for eCommerce 3  


Elective Courses - 9 credit units

Group I Electives - at least 3 credit units

Code Title Credit Units Remarks
CS5293 Topics on Information Security 3  
CS5296 Cloud Computing: Theory and Practice 3  
CS6290 Privacy-enhancing Technologies 3  
CS6534 Guided Study 3  


Group II Electives

Code Title Credit Units Remarks
CS5222 Computer Networks and Internets 3  
CS5288 Cryptography: Theory and Practice 3  
CS5294 Information Security Technology Management 3