16 DEC 2021

2021 ACM Distinguished Member

Prof Jason XUE was named a 2021 Distinguished Member by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) for his outstanding scientific contributions to computing. ACM selected 63 Distinguished Members in 2021 to recognize their accomplishments to advance computing as a science and a profession.

The ACM Distinguished Members program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide members who have at least 15 years of professional experience, five years of professional ACM membership in the last 10 years, and have achieved a significant level of accomplishment or have made a significant impact in the field of computing, computer science or information technology.

25 NOV 2021

Fellow of IEEE 2022

Dr Gerhard Petrus HANCKE has been named Fellow of the prestigious Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in the class of 2022 for his outstanding contributions to secure and resilient wireless technology for the Industrial Internet-of-Things.

The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The total number selected in any one year does not exceed one-tenth of one percent of the total voting Institute membership.

02 AUG 2021

Fellowship award under the RGC Research Fellow Scheme (RFS) 2021/22

Prof Cong WANG has been selected for the fellowship award under the RGC Research Fellow Scheme (RFS) 2021/22. Prof Wang will be conferred the title of “RGC Research Fellow,” and will receive a fellowship grant of HK$5,155,380 covering a period of 60 months starting from January 2022.

First launched by the Research Grants Council (RGC) in 2020/21, in each round of the yearly exercise, the Research Fellow Scheme (RFS) aims to provide sustained support and relief from teaching and administrative duties to ten exceptionally outstanding researchers at Associate Professor rank (at the time of application) with a view to facilitating their full dedication to research and development, and nurturing young research talents.

24 JUN 2021

Foreign member of the Academia Europaea

Prof Jun WANG has been elected as the foreign member of the Academia Europaea in its Informatics Section, following a rigorous peer review process.

The Academia Europaea, which was founded in 1988, is a Europe-wide Academy, with a membership of over 4000 eminent scholars, from countries of Europe and other nations across the world, covering the full range of academic disciplines including the humanities, law, the economic, social, and political sciences, mathematics, medicine, and all branches of natural and technological sciences, with aims to promote European research, advise governments and international organisations in scientific matters, and further interdisciplinary and international research.