The Metaheuritic Optimization Group @ CityU HK

Our major research focus is to combine ideas and techniques from evolutionary computation, traditional mathematical programming and machine learning for designing efficient metaheuristic algorithms for dealing with hard search and optimization problems in fields ranging from engineering design to e-commence and management planning. The group has an excellent research track record. The multiobjective evolutionary optimization algorithms based on decomposition (MOEA/D) developed by us has become one of the most widely used algorithmic framework in the area of multiobjective evolutionary computation.


  • Dr. Lin Xi, 09/2021-

  • Dr. Peiqiu Huang, 09/2021-

  • Dr. Shaolong Shi, 01/2022-

PhD Students

  • Zhiyuang Yang, 09/2019-

  • Jingjing Chen, 09/2019-

  • Liang Zhao, 09/2020-

  • Fei Liu, 09/2020-

  • Ping Guo, 09/2020-

  • Weiduo Liao, 10/2020- CityU-SuSTech Joint PhD Programme, SuSTech Supervisor: Prof. Hisao Ishibuchi

  • Xiaoyuan Zhang, 09/2021-

  • Lin Gui, 09/21- CityU-HUST Joint PhD Programme, HUST Supervisor: Prof. Xinyu Li

  • Chengyu Lu, 09/21-

  • Cheng Gong, 09/21- CityU-SuSTech Joint PhD Programme, SuSTech Supervisor: Prof. Hisao Ishibuchi

  • Lyuyang Tong, 12/20- CityU-Wuhu Joint PhD Programme, Co-supervised with Prof. Kay Chen Tan.

Past Visitors and Research Associates/Fellows

  • Prof. Dirk Arnold, Dalhousie Univ. (20 days, 2014.)

  • Prof. Aimin Zhou, East China Normal Univ. (two weeks, 2014)

  • Prof. Hui Li, Xian Jiaotong Univ. (10 days, 2014)

  • Prof. Xinye Cai, Nanjing Univ. of Aeronautics and Astronautics. ( one week, 2014)

  • Mr. Xi Lin, Columbia Univ. (10 days, 2014)

  • Prof. Yuanchun Jiang (one month, 2014)

  • Prof. Zexuan Zhu (one month, 2014)

  • Dr. Rui Wang (two months, 2014)

  • Prof. Huanhuan Chen (two weeks, 2014)

  • Mr. Kalyan S Bhattacharjee (two weeks, 2016, supported by CIS, IEEE)

  • Prof. Arnaud Liefooghe, Inria, 2016

  • Prof. Bilel Derbel, Inria, 2016

  • Mr Anupam Trivedi, NUS, two weeks, 2017

  • Dr. Yanyan Tan, 9 months, 2019


  • Dr. Xi Lin, City University of Hong Kong

  • Dr. Genghui Li, Southern University of Science and Technology,

  • Dr. Qingling Zhu, Shenzhen University

  • Dr. Hui Liu,

  • Dr. Weifeng Gao (HK scholar), Xidian U,

  • Dr. Zhenkun Wang, Southern University of Science and Technology,

  • Dr. Huilin Zhen, Huawei

  • Dr. Jingda Deng, Xian Jiaotong U

  • Dr. Ke Li, U of Exeter, UK

  • Dr. Yu Zhou, Shenzhen U, China

  • Dr. Zhihua Li, National U of Singapore, Now Nanjing Aeronautics and Astronautics university

  • Dr. Jialong Shi, Xian Jiatong U, China

  • Dr. Xiao Zhang

  • Dr. Mengyuan Wu, Huawei