MeAOW 2012

Memory Architecture and Organization Workshop 2012

October 11, 2012

Held during ESWeek 2012 in Tampere, Finland


Workshop Background and Goals

Memory technologies are evolving rapidly, resulting in many new storage opportunities that demand novel memory architectures, organizations  and management strategies to effectively leverage their unique features. Newer memories, such as Phase Changing Memory (PCM), STT-RAM, Memristor, embedded-RAM, etc., have their unique advantages as well as disadvantages. Often they exhibit read and write asymmetry, where a write operation may incur a large latency and consume significantly more energy than a read operation. The wear-out characteristics, density, ambient operational conditions and other parameters may require novel memory organizations and software/hardware management support to leverage the benefits of these new memory technologies.  Thus there is an urgent need to model, analyze, design and evaluate novel memory management techniques at varying abstraction levels for these novel memories. MeAOW aims to bring together researchers for discussion and advancement of novel memory architectures, organizations and management.

List of Topics for MeAOW 2012: 
- Novel memory architecture and design
- Energy efficient memory architecture and management
- Non-volatile Memory(NVM) / Storage Class Memory(SLM) architecture and management
- Flash Memory management
- Operating System and Embedded software support for Memory Management
- Compilation techniques for non-volatile memory
- Hardware-Software Codesign for novel memory architectures

Workshop Format

MEAOW is designed to be an interactive workshop at ESWeek covering these novel memory topics: the event is designed to foster interaction and presentation of early results, new ideas and speculative directions.  Thus workshop will combine a number of invited talks from researchers in academia, technologists from industry, case studies on the use of novel memories, as well as talks selected from submission to the workshop. Participating authors are invited to submit contributions of no more than 6 pages that will be included in an informal workshop digest distributed to all attendees registered for MeAOW 2012.  The workshop organizers will also consider invited selecting papers for a special issue of an ACM or IEEE journal.  


Nikil Dutt                                   University of California, Irvine, USA

Chun Jason Xue          City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong   


Program Committee 

Benny Akesson, CISTER Research Center, ISEP, Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal
Luis Angel D. Bathen, SPAWAR, US Navy
Neil Audsley, University of York, UK
Christos Baloukas, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
Luca Benini, Univesity di Bologna, Italy
Yiran Chen, University of Pittsburgh
Kiyoung Choi, Seoul National University
Junli Gu, AMD Research
Tei-wei Kuo, National Taiwan University
Sung-Soo Lim, Kookmin University, Korea
kyoungwoo Lee, Yonsei University, Korea
Peter Marwedel, TU Dortmund
Sang Lyul Min, Seoul National University
Zili Shao, Polytechnical University of Hong Kong
Aviral Shrivastava, Arizona State University
José Ignacio Gómez Pérez, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Hiroyuki Tomiyama, Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Christian Weis, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
Yuan Xie, AMD Research China and Penn State University
Sungjoo Yoo, Postech, Korea


Important Dates

Paper submission
Friday, Sep 7, 2012

Acceptance Notification
Friday, Sep 21, 2012

Final version
Friday, Sep 28, 2012

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012

Call for Papers

Advance Program


Past MeAOW

MeAOW 2011 


 Last modified on Sep 4, 2012